≡ Menu

Map: Current Counties

Current 22 counties currently occupying original Cherokee County

Map: Original Counties

The following map is of the original Cherokee Cherokee County in 1832, showing the 10 counties created in 1832 at the time of the land lottery. Shaded areas indicate the gold districts-non shaded areas indicate the land districts.

Map: Militia Districts

Map of the Militia Districts of Cherokee County, Georiga, courtesy of Ed Gordon.

Boundary Evolution

These maps show the evolution of Cherokee County from the time it was owned and inhabited by the Cherokee Nation and then eventually taken from the Cherokee and parceled out to settlers over the course of several land lotteries.